Reservation

Reviews of The Coolinary

Read Our Guest Reviews

Reviews of The Coolinary

FlyingPirate, Dined on May 20, 2017

***** Four of us had a pre-theater meal at Coolinary while celebrating a friends birthday. We were seated immediately at a nice table by the window and our champagne arrived within moments. The orange salad special sounded great, so we all tried it and it was, in fact, fantastic. Hard to say for a salad, I know, but there you are. Hungarian sausage and tuna carpaccio appetizers were delicious, but the main courses were the best. The Coolinary fish stew was ridiculously good (I was the winner), but the Coq au Van, herb crusted salmon, and grouper were all delicious. For desert, we lived the Creme Brûlée with fresh strawberries, and the owner presented our birthday girl with a rose and a gift certificate. This was our second time at Coolinary, and there will be much more!

 

OpenTable Diner

 Dined on May 14, 2017

***** Everything we had was very good to excellent. The menu included a few Hungarian dishes, reflecting the chef's nationality, I read. The Chicken Paprikas, which I never would have ordered had I not known that was incredibly delicious, and the accompanying spaetzle was to die for. Two appetizers, a lightly smoked salmon with celeriac slaw and raw tuna with a salad were both also delicious. We had a special dessert -- orange pistachio cake -- was very special.  
Our server was delightful.

 

Luv2Dine

 (München)·Dined on May 7, 2017

***** The food was awesome. Service was very attentive. We will be back.

 

OpenTable Diner

 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

**** Awesome food and drinks! Great location in downtown Sarasota! Live jazz music on Saturdays!

 

OpenTable Diner

 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

**** Coolinary was a great find in the heart of Sarasota's Main Street.
Food was of great quality, creative and delicious. Our family (including two kids) all enjoyed each dish and would absolutely come back so we could try more dishes from the menu. Wonderful service and a great environment were bonus!

 

 

 

   

 

5/30/2017

***** Had the best experience EVER in a restaurant!! My husband and I went for his birthday on May 27, 2017. We were greeted and seated almost immediately upon arrival. The atmosphere is unique and very eclectic, as was the food and the drink menu! Very, very nice experience! Our server, Martina was amazing and obviously has been serving people for many years because she was an absolute "PRO" at what she was doing!!! After our meal and before "cake", the GM, Viktor came over and spoke with us for a little while! He was an absolute gem and made us feel like we were "regulars" in the restaurant almost immediately!! Both he and Martina were very knowledgeable about the entire menu and also the background behind The Coolinary Restaurant, itself!! Never over-doing the conversation and making the service seem very "seamless" as well!! Thank you Viktor and Martina, you guys ROCK! I hope that your owners know what gems they have in you two!! I saw other people working very hard and having been in the industry for a while, it was a breath of fresh air to watch a restaurant run so effortlessly like they did Saturday evening!! (Obviously this is due to good ownership/management!!) If you have never tried out The Coolinary, you must give it a whirl!! It is amazing. The filet was amazing!!
Thank you again for making my husband's birthday unique!!

 

5/28/2017

**** An absolutely beautiful environment with delicious fresh meat fish and vegetables. We've eaten here multiple times and it's always a great experience. I recommend the Hungarian specialties but the American dishes are great as well.

 

5/22/2017

 ***** We cleaned our plates - all four of us. Loved the live music. Love the restaurant's interior design. The food is creative, but not too far out there.

 

5/7/2017

 ***** This is a really nice find on Main Street in Sarasota. You have to go upstairs so it's a little hard to find. The bartender is really awesome. I had a Firecracker. Vodka, grapefruit and a little jalapeño. Very tasty. The panko encrusted goat cheese salad was wonderful. We had the paprika chicken, it was really tender and filling. The sweet potato risotto had a little taste of curry and was very nice. The service was very attentive and peasant. I love the decor-lots of nice seating areas and a beautiful bar. It would be a great place to sit and watch the bartender mix.

 

 

 

 











 


“Fabulous dinner in an artsy atmosphere”
****
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
We stopped by and had 2 appetizers, beef tartare and seared shrimp. Food was great and the service attentive. Manager,Victor, was so helpful. We will definitely go again

 

5/1/2017
***** My friend and I had a wonderful dinner . I had the black grouper. He had the salmon. the roasted potatoes side were terrific. (enough for two ) We shared a large caesar salad that was delicious. the atmosphere is lovely. Ask for a quiet spot if you don't like a lot of noise. Our waitress Caroline was perfect. The creme brûlée was perfectly made. The presentation of the food is gourmet/artistic style. I look forward to trying the Hungarian dishes in future as the owners are Hungarian. They sound scrumptious.

 

Visited May 2017
"Don't pass it by”
**** 4 weeks ago
Entered only from a street level, steep staircase and an elevator it is easy to pass by the entrance. But that would be a mistake as the ambiance and the service are both warm and inviting and the food is prepared mostly from organic ingredients and presented wig flair. The portions are good sized, but not enormous, and the prices are reasonable. The vegetarians and vegan choices are welcome and the kitchen seems willing to make any reasonable adjustment to the preparation of a dish. Four of us especially enjoyed the spectrum of food selection: the vegan risotto, the PEI mussels and the penne met the many differing food preferences. The drinks were well sized and the 'Cool GT' was a fun twist on an old favorite. Parking is easy at a valet just across the street and there are a variety of seating options to choose from. Altogether a fun restaurant with a caring staff and an agile kitchen.

 

"so COOL"

4 weeks ago

*****Great food and equaled only by it's service. Happy hour from 4 - 6 and 25% off food during happy hour including dinner entrees. Great menu providing something for everyone. Have to try it. Know we will definitely be going back

 

"Coolinary has a cool vibe"

Apr 12, 2017
***** Stumbled across this restaurant one evening and really glad I went upstairs! Refreshing, current look with good food, really talented, friendly bartender and music. Chic but relaxed at the same time, this is a great new dining addition to Sarasota

 

May 23, 2017
**** Our second visit was every bit as impressive as our first and all four meals played to rave reviews. 


April 7, 2017
*****Shrimp and grits special was awesome! Duck was amazing. Drinks are some of the best in town! Very Friendly staff. One of my new favorite places.

 

Mar 19, 2017
***** My husband had the duck and I had the lamb osso bucco. Real coolinary experience. Great staff too. I made my reservations on line and it was followed up with a phone call.

 

— 5 stars

Yesterday at 8:34am · 

Awesome staff, incredible cocktails and delicious food. Nice ambiance. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely be back!

 

 4 star

May 21 at 10:21am · 

Loved The Coolinary! Fantastic meal and wonderful service! Can't wait to return!

 

— 5 star

May 20 at 11:01pm · 

Best place to go for awesome service and artistic cocktails with Uldis!

 

— 4 star

May 15 at 5:45pm · 

Very cool Jazz bar and restaurant! Great Martinis and food.

 

 — 5 star

April 15 · 

The food is fresh and flavorful, the cocktail menu is great and the vibe is upbeat, fun and relaxed! Victor and the staff are always so friendly and on point! Love this place! 






New York Café TripAdvisor